Change a user's role

This feature is only available to organization owners and administrators.

Users join as owners, administrators, moderators, members, or guests, depending on how they were invited.

An organization owner can change the role of any user. An organization administrator can change the role of most users, but cannot create or demote an organization owner.

You can revoke your own owner or administrative privileges if there is at least one other owner in the organization (consider promoting a new owner or deactivating the organization instead).

Change a user's role

  1. Hover over a user's name in the right sidebar.

  2. Click on the ellipsis () to the right of their name to open their user card.

  3. Click on the ellipsis () in the user card.

  4. Click Manage this user.

  5. Under User role, select a role.

  6. Click Save changes. The new permissions will take effect immediately.

  1. Click on the gear () icon in the upper right corner of the web or desktop app.

  2. Select Manage organization.

  3. On the left, click Users.

  4. Find the user you would like to manage. Click the pencil () to the right of their name.

  5. Under User role, select a role.

  6. Click Save changes. The new permissions will take effect immediately.